Blogs

Upcoming Linux Foundation OSS Summit talk on Blockchain, Open Source, and Climate Change

I will be giving a talk for the Linux Foundation OSS Summit on “Fighting Climate Change with Blockchain and Open Source” on Monday October 26 at 12 PM GMT/8 AM EST/5 AM PST.  This will be a virtual event that you can attend from anywhere in the world.  Here’s the synopsis of my talk:

If climate change is the biggest challenge of our time, then blockchain may be the most powerful open source tool we have for fighting it. By promising peer to peer collaboration around shared yet immutable ledgers, it could improve the quality of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions data, coordinate emissions reduction through all sectors of the economy, and build trust in climate action. In this presentation, we will look at a variety of open source projects utilizing blockchain to fight climate change, including those from the Linux Foundation’s Hyperledger and the global Open Climate Collabthon. It will cover projects ranging from carbon emissions accounting, supply chain responsibility, green data centers, renewable energy, and transportation. The presentation will discuss the roles of blockchain technologies, open source software in general, and community development.

Click here to see more details and other great talks happening.  

“See” you there!